Australian Writers' Guild Awards

1997 | 1998 | 1999 | 2000 | 2001 | 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016

Monte Miller Award

(for unproduced script over 30 minutes by Associate member)
  • Chrome by Jonathan Empson
  • Burn by James Melchior
  • Death by Shark by Heidi Regan
  • Weightless by Eliesha Steel
  • Sleepwalker by Matt Wheeldon

Monte Miller Award

(for unproduced script under 30 minutes by Associate member)
  • Golden Girl by Holly Alexander
  • Stop 39 by Irina Goundortseva
  • From Halfway There, With Love by Mandy McCarthy
  • The Ball by Andrew Slattery

Richard Lane Award Recognising Outstanding Service and Dedication to the Australian Writers' Guild

  • Peter Walford

Dorothy Crawford Award - For Outstanding Contribution to the Profession

  • Karin Altmann

Fred Parsons Award - For Special Contribution to Australian Comedy

  • Gina Riley and Jane Turner

John Hinde Award for Science Fiction

  • Primeval Evolved - Anthony Mullins and Timothy Wilde

Kit Denton Fellowship

  • I Want to be Slim - George Catsi

FOXTEL Fellowship

  • Sue Smith

Major Award

  • Animal Kingdom - David Michôd

Children's Television (C Classification)

  • Lockie Leonard — Crimes of the Heartless by Shelley Birse
  • Dance Academy — Growing Pains by Sarah Lambert
  • My Place — 1958 — Michaelis by Tim Pye
  • Dance Academy — Turning Points by Greg Waters

Children's Television (P Classification)

  • Bananas in Pyjamas - Bird Song by John Armstong
  • Penelope K, By the Way — Why Do Elephants Have Trunk' by Melanie Alexander
  • Bananas in Pyjamas (animated series) 'The Little Fish' by Kevin Nemeth


  • The Dark Room by Angela Betzien
  • And No More Shall We Part by Tom Holloway
  • Goodbye Vaudeville Charlie Mudd by Lally Katz
  • Transparency by Suzie Miller
  • The Book of Everything by Richard Tulloch

Music Theatre

  • Call Girl the Musical by Tracy Harvey and Doug Macleod
  • Rembrandt's Wife by Sue Smith

Community & Youth Theatre

  • Night Breakfast by Merillee Moss
  • Bustown by Lachlan Philpott

Interactive Media

  • Primeval Evolved by Anthony Mullins and Timothy Wilde

Radio - Original Broadcast

  • The Violin Player by Catherine Fargher
  • Dark Paradise by NoŽlle Janaczewska
  • Kasa Por Yarn by Simon Luckhurst
  • Killing Oleander by Stephanie McCarthy

Radio - Adaptation

  • Mrs Macquarie's Cello by Donna Abela
  • Lines in the Sand by Simon Luckhurst

Documentary - Public Broadcast

  • Indonesia Calling: Joris Ivens in Australia by John Hughes
  • Addicted to Money — Episode 2 by Simon Nasht with David McWilliams
  • Darwin by Katherine Thomson

Documentary - Corporate Training

  • At The Creek by Charles Hamlyn-Harris

Short Film

  • Just Desserts by Gillian Bartlett
  • The Not So Great Eugene Green — Michael Hill
  • A Parachute Falling in Siberia — Ian Meadows and Sarah Shaw
  • Stuffed by Magdalena Wozniak

Comedy (Sketch or Light Entertainment)

  • Good News Week — The 2009 Sauce Bottle Awards by Dave Bloustien, Simon Dodd, Bruce Griffiths,Warwick Holt, Paul Livingston and Ian Simmons
  • Talkin' 'bout Your Generation: Episode 16 by Stephen Hall and Michael Ward with Shaun Micallef

Comedy (Situation or Narrative)

  • The Jesters — Hard Time Getting Soft by Kevin Brumpton and Angus Fitzsimons
  • Lowdown — Who's Your Baddy? by Amanda Brotchie and Adam Zwar
  • 30 Seconds — Invisible Fault Lines by Timothy Bullock, Justin Drape and Scott Nowell

Television (Serial)

  • Home and Away Ep 4917 by Fiona Bozic
  • Home and Away EP 5003 by Phil Lloyd
  • Home and Away Ep 5068 by Sam Meikle
  • Neighbours Ep 5782 by Rene Zandveld

Television (Series)

  • Rush Ep 210 — Armoured Car by David Caesar and Adam Todd
  • Rush Ep 208 — Boy in the Bush by Michelle Offen
  • Spirited — The Man Who Fell To Earth by Jacquelin Perske
  • Rush Ep 222 — Water by Adam Todd

Telemovie (Original)

  • Hawke by Glen Dolman

Television Mini-series (Adaptaton)

  • Underbelly: The Golden Mile by Peter Gawler, Greg Haddrick, Kris Mrksa and Felicity Packard
  • Underbelly: A Tale of Two Cities by Peter Gawler, Greg Haddrick, Kris Mrksa and Felicity Packard

Feature Film (Adaptation)

  • Creation by John Collee
  • Balibo by David Williamson AO and Robert Connolly

Feature Film (Original)

  • Lou by Belinda Chayko
  • Griff the Invisible by Leon Ford
  • Animal Kingdom by David Michôd
  • Beneath Hill 60 by David Roach