A Film Australia Production in association with Warlpiri Media Association Ltd

Executive Producer: Stefan Moore
Producer: Jennnifer McMahon Writer/Director: David Batty
Co-Director: Francis Jupurrula Kelly

Produced: 1998, 2001

This off-beat series follows the exploits of the Bush Mechanics, a group of engaging Aboriginal characters, as they travel through central Australia. A blend of documentary and drama with anecdotes of life in the bush, each of the four episodes illuminates a particular aspect of Warlpiri life from gathering bush tucker and living in a humpy to football and rock and roll. Combining adventure, magical realism and a distinctive brand of indigenous humor, the series provides a unique insight into both contemporary and tradiditonal Aboriginal culture.
The Bush Mechanics
Simeon Jupurrula Ross
Steven Jupurrula Morton
Errol Jupurrula Nelson
Junior Jupurulla Wilson
Randall Jupurulla Wilson
Jack Jackamarra Ross
Francis Jupurrula Kelly
Walter Leichleitner
group in car

Other Sites: